News:

Create A Forum Installed

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - simply sibyl

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 13
61
General Support / Re: Blanks - Please Help
« on: July 18, 2011, 05:13:24 pm »
Hi Cooldude.  That style hasnt been updated to work properly with 2.0 yet and Im not sure when Ill get a chance to do so.  There are some edits to the css for that style that you can do yourself however that will fix that and some other issues.
 
Modify the css for that style.   In the css:
 
Find:
Code: [Select]
dl.settings dt
{
    width: 48%;

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
dl.settings dt
{
    width: 40%;

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
dl.settings dd
{
    width: 48%;
    float: right;
    margin: 0 0
3px 0;
    padding: 0;
}

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
dl.settings dd
{
    width: 56%;
    float: right;
    overflow:
auto;
    margin: 0 0 3px 0;
    padding: 0;
}

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
#quickReplyOptions form textarea
{
    height: 100px;
    margin:
0.25em 0 1em 0;
}
Replace with:
Code: [Select]
#quickReplyOptions form textarea
{
    height: 100px;
    width:
635px;
    max-width: 100%;
    min-width: 100%;
    margin: 0.25em 0
1em 0;
}

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
/* Additional profile fields */
dl.register_form
{
    margin: 0;
   
 clear: right;
    /* overflow: auto; */
}

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
/* Additional profile fields */
dl.register_form
{
    margin: 0;
   
 clear: right;
}

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
#adm_container
{
    border-bottom: 1px solid #ccc;
    margin-bottom:
5px;
}

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
#main_container
{
    position: relative;
}

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
#main_admsection
{
    margin-left: 172px;
    overflow: hidden;
}

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
#main_admsection
{
    position: relative;
    left: 0;
    right:
0;
    overflow: hidden;
}

 
Find:
Code: [Select]
#creator dd
{
    float: left;
    width: 55%;
    margin: 0 0 10px
2px;
}

Replace with:
Code: [Select]
#creator dd
{
    float: right;
    width: 55%;
    margin: 0 0 10px
2px;
    overflow: auto;
}

 

62
General Support / Re: Can image be added?
« on: July 13, 2011, 06:14:03 pm »
You can use html in the Site Slogan box.  Admin > Layout Options > Theme Options > Site Slogan
I would keep the image small though.
 
Code: [Select]

 
<img src="image url here" alt="" />
 

My test forum url so you can see that it works
http://sibs.createaforum.com/

63
Bugs / Re: Errors when setting up a new forum
« on: July 10, 2011, 01:34:32 am »
Clicking Profile gives this error now:
Quote
Unknown column 'enclose' in 'field list'
File: C:\Inetpub\createaforum\Sources\Profile.php
Line: 679


      SELECT
         col_name, field_name, field_desc, field_type, field_length, field_options,
         default_value, bbc, enclose, placement
      FROM sibsplace_custom_fields
      WHERE active = 1

Maybe this was some odd glitch with the forum install.  I was going to use it only as a test site so its fine if you want to trash it
No Arcade section on the left side in Admin.   There are settings in Permissions for the Arcade but thats it.   <---  Ignore that.  Its in Core Features.  Not used to it putting it there  ;)
 

64
Bugs / Re: Errors when setting up a new forum
« on: July 10, 2011, 01:14:52 am »
Dumbo here forgot to give you the url earlier  http://sibsplace.createaforum.com/index.php

Nothing funky happened at signup at all.   Went quick and smooth.
 
Did the pings:
createaforum.com
Quote
Pinging createaforum.com [68.233.250.132] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=75ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=74ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=71ms TTL=117
Ping statistics for 68.233.250.132:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 71ms, Maximum = 75ms, Average = 73ms

www.createaforum.com
Quote
Pinging createaforum.com [68.233.250.132] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=72ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=117
Reply from 68.233.250.132: bytes=32 time=73ms TTL=117
Ping statistics for 68.233.250.132:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 72ms, Maximum = 82ms, Average = 76ms

65
Bugs / Errors when setting up a new forum
« on: July 09, 2011, 08:32:26 pm »
I signed up for a new test forum and the following occured immediately: 
1.  After installation I clicked on the "Profile" tab and got this error:
Quote
Unknown column 'mem.pm_receive_from' in 'field list'
File: C:\Inetpub\createaforum\Sources\Load.php
Line: 1057


         SELECT
         IFNULL(lo.log_time, 0) AS is_online, IFNULL(a.id_attach, 0) AS id_attach, a.filename, a.attachment_type,
         mem.signature, mem.personal_text, mem.location, mem.gender, mem.avatar, mem.id_member, mem.member_name,
         mem.real_name, mem.email_address, mem.hide_email, mem.date_registered, mem.website_title, mem.website_url,
         mem.openid_uri, mem.birthdate, mem.icq, mem.aim, mem.yim, mem.msn, mem.posts, mem.last_login, mem.karma_good,
         mem.karma_bad, mem.member_ip, mem.member_ip2, mem.lngfile, mem.id_group, mem.id_theme, mem.buddy_list,
         mem.pm_ignore_list, mem.pm_email_notify, mem.pm_receive_from, mem.time_offset, mem.usertitle,
         mem.time_format, mem.secret_question, mem.is_activated, mem.additional_groups, mem.smiley_set, mem.show_online,
         mem.total_time_logged_in, mem.id_post_group, mem.notify_announcements, mem.notify_regularity, mem.notify_send_body,
         mem.notify_types, lo.url, mg.online_color AS member_group_color, IFNULL(mg.group_name, '') AS member_group,
         pg.online_color AS post_group_color, IFNULL(pg.group_name, '') AS post_group, mem.ignore_boards, mem.warning,
         CASE WHEN mem.id_group = 0 OR mg.stars = '' THEN pg.stars ELSE mg.stars END AS stars, mem.password_salt, mem.pm_prefs
         FROM sibsplace_members AS mem
         LEFT JOIN _global_log_online  AS lo ON (lo.id_member = mem.id_member AND lo.subdomain = 'sibsplace')
         LEFT JOIN sibsplace_attachments AS a ON (a.id_member = mem.id_member)
         LEFT JOIN sibsplace_membergroups AS pg ON (pg.id_group = mem.id_post_group)
         LEFT JOIN sibsplace_membergroups AS mg ON (mg.id_group = mem.id_group)
         WHERE mem.id_member = 1
2.  Clicked the "Members" tab.     It set up TWO "sibyls" and both as Administrator.   One is listed as having been online today.   The other listed as Never.    They show up via Members in Admin too yet Forum Stats state there is 1 Member.
3.  Ran Find and Repair Errors.   Got the following error msg
Quote
The following errors are fouling up your forum:            
The subject of topic #1 is currently not stored in the subject
cache.               
Would you like to attempt to fix these errors?      
(clicking yes to fix it did clear it up)
Running "Recount all Forum Stats"  changed the number of members to "2"   (two of me) lol
Probably more i havent found yet.  Seems the install had a glitch  ;)
 

66
General Support / Re: Can't Edit Profiles
« on: July 09, 2011, 08:18:48 pm »
That's not the question I was asking...it kept saying "You must have a few posts before modifying your profile,"

I know.  That is why Im telling you that you need to check Permissions.   

When you signup for a forum and it is installed the Default settings in Permissions for the Newbie Membergroup are to not allow editing the Profile.  Im attaching a screenshot to show you that there is nothing checkmarked in that section in Permissions for that Membergroup that will allow them to do so.    The next Post Based Group (Jr Member)  also does not have those Permissions checked.    None of the Post Based Groups do and for a reason.  As Admin you have to decide what permissions you want each group to have and set them accordingly.
   
Here's an example of how it works:
Newbie -  0 required Posts
Jr Member - 50 required Posts
If you set the "Jr Member" to be allowed to make changes to their Profile settings then once those in the "Newbie" Membergroup make 50 posts and are then set as a Jr Member they will be able to edit their Profile.     If you WANT the Newbies to be able to do so you have to check mark those settings.     Without them checked this is going to keep happening until they get up to a level that DOES have them checked..

67
General Support / Re: Can't Edit Profiles
« on: July 09, 2011, 02:49:20 am »
Go to Admin > Permissions
Click "Modify" across from "Regular Members"
Scroll down on the right side and look for the Member Profile Section
Make sure you have "Own Profile" checked  for "Edit Account Settings, Edit Additonal Profile Settings,  and Edit Custom Title (if you want that one)  Clicking on the     icon will show you what each of those Permissions does.

Then go to each of your other Membergroups Permissions and set each Membergroup as you want it for those same Permissions.   

68
Style Support / Re: [Request] Green and Black Style
« on: July 08, 2011, 07:43:25 am »
Thanks! Really helpful! But what about the green and black?
Well, since (as I said) I don't have the time to update Orangina properly.. I surely don't have the time to tackle a new style.   Hopefully someone else can do this for you.   
 
 

69
Style Support / Re: [Request] Green and Black Style
« on: July 08, 2011, 07:33:26 am »
Quote
Also, something to note about the orangina theme:
It completely breaks the admin menu. If anyone can fix that aswell I'd be very thankful.

Orangina was created for SMF RC3.    There have been 2 more RC versions of the forum software since that time and now the Final version of 2.0   There were a lot of changes to the css throughout these many versions of the software.    RC3 styles will not work/display properly with 2.0  as you can see by how Orangina looks in Admin and many other places.    Its kinda akin to older Firefox extensions not working with newer versions of Firefox.   

Basically what Im saying is that style needs a total rewrite now to include not only updating the css but redoing some of the images.    Im afraid I don't have the time to do that - it takes a good amount of time.    If someone else wants to tackle it its fine.

You can fix the Admin problem with the style by going to the Style Admin and modifying the style.   
Search for this in the css:

Code: [Select]
#main_admsection
{
margin-left: 172px;
}

Replace it with this:

Code: [Select]
#main_admsection
{
margin-left: 172px;
overflow: hidden;
}


70
Guides and Tutorials / Re: [GUIDE] Using Your Own Rank Images
« on: July 07, 2011, 02:56:46 am »
The page for the Generator was made by a member (from SMF for Free) and his page must be down.

If the Generator URL is not working:

(The code goes in the Footer)

Code: [Select]
<script type='text/javascript'>
/*
Change Any Image On Page
Created by iFusion
*/
var img_b = new Array();

img_b[img_b.length++] = ["OLD IMAGE URL" , "NEW IMAGE URL"]

var all_images = document.getElementsByTagName('IMG');
for(i=0;i<all_images.length;i++){
for(j=0;j<img_b.length;j++){
   if(all_images[i].src == img_b[j][0]){
     all_images[i].src = img_b[j][1];
}}}
</script>


Replace OLD IMAGE URL with the url of the image you want to replace
Replace NEW IMAGE URL with the url of the new image you want to use

Add more of these lines if you have several images to swap:

img_b[img_b.length++] = ["OLD IMAGE URL" , "NEW IMAGE URL"]

71
Suggestions / Re: security verification code
« on: July 06, 2011, 07:12:20 pm »
Ah, understand. So was the default one no good ?
Naw its not that at all.  Recaptcha is just a better system and harder for bots to get around.
 

72
Suggestions / Re: security verification code
« on: July 06, 2011, 07:04:45 pm »
Yeah, but it seems a bit daft to have a settings from 'none' to 'simple' to 'medium' and 'extreme' but not actually make a difference to the verification code quality.
Yeah I realize that gets confusing.   Those settings were there for the default verification system.     Recaptcha was added as its a much better system and when its added it does not and can not remove those settings from the software.   

73
Suggestions / Re: security verification code
« on: July 06, 2011, 06:15:03 pm »
There is no way to change the complexity of the Recaptcha Code.   The settings in Security and Moderation/Anti-Spam won't effect/change it.   Those settings are the default in the software - however the Verification system being used (Recaptcha) is a Modification added to the system and there are no settings whereby you can alter the complexity.

74
Have you tried setting the forum to the Default Style so you can see if it does it with that?   If it doesnt then you KNOW its something with the css with the custom style you are using and/or the settings for it under Theme Settings for forum width.

Hello, I tried as you suggested and set it back to the default. That worked to bring everything back under correct alignment but I have lost the stylized look we had. I will contact my programming team on the next workday and see what they can do.

Thanks!

Tony

You have not lost the style... its just not set at it right now.     The reason I had you change it to the Default style was to see if the alignment is okay with that.   Since you say it IS okay with the Default Style that means that there is something in the css for that custom style they did for you that is causing the alignment problem.    You can put that custom style back the same way you set the forum to Default.  Just go to the style manager and choose that custom style.     BUT -  the alignment problem is still going to be there.    They did something in that css , code-wize) that is causing it.

75
Have you tried setting the forum to the Default Style so you can see if it does it with that?   If it doesnt then you KNOW its something with the css with the custom style you are using and/or the settings for it under Theme Settings for forum width.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 13