Create A Forum - Support Forums

Support => Create a Forum Codes and Support => Topic started by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 02:31:25 am

Title: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 02:31:25 am
http://www.gofunforum.com/ (http://www.gofunforum.com/)

Can this image be coded in so it appears like this at the top of the forum.. So the image is to the right of where it reads " Go Fun Rewards Discussion Forum"..

This is a screen shot where I just placed the image over that area of the forum .
.
I will have to send someone the actual picture ( if it can be done ), because it is actually longer than it appears here.. Guess this forum shrunk it to fit...

(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi1270.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fjj612%2Fsnuffbottlesplus%2Fheader_zps23610436.jpg&hash=56d42438b5d16fee5a062d41fe1a0a96f733454a)
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 06, 2012, 02:45:21 am
I don't think this could be done with css so I moved it into the coding board.
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 02:50:02 am
Thanks  :)
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 06, 2012, 02:54:51 am
Well you might have to re-position the image to fit in but here's the code:
jQuery required, check this topic for latest version: http://support.createaforum.com/5/jquery-v1-8-update/
Footers:
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css("background-image","url(IMAGE_URL)");</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 03:49:33 am
If I got it correct, here is what I placed in the footer..
Also place the JQuery in the header
But..... The image is not showing up....
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css("background-image","<img src="http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj612/snuffbottlesplus/vacation2_zps21bbffe2.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>");</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 06, 2012, 03:53:09 am
You have to do it like this:
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css("background-image","url(http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj612/snuffbottlesplus/vacation2_zps21bbffe2.jpg)");</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 03:55:57 am
You beat me back here..
I just figured that out... But, have a look at the forum ... It doubled up the image side by side..
http://gofunforum.com/ (http://gofunforum.com/)
 
 
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 06, 2012, 04:07:44 am
If you didn't want it to repeat, you could try this:
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css({"background-image":"url(http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj612/snuffbottlesplus/vacation2_zps21bbffe2.jpg)","background-repeat":"no-repeat"});</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 06, 2012, 05:00:56 am
Ok..

That got rid of the double pics..
 
The only thing is that was sort of wanting it to the right a bit.. Had originally wanted it to the right of the forum title.. But that does not really matter.. Just worried that members profile and recent postings link, etc.., will be obscured by the photo..
 
Any ideas how we can move it further to the right ?

(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi1270.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fjj612%2Fsnuffbottlesplus%2Ffix_zps8e394892.jpg&hash=ab7fc8f74f41144b5870b56b11fc5d46ded0401b)
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 06, 2012, 02:28:06 pm
You'll have to redo the image a little bit but here's the code:
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css({"background-image":"url(http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj612/snuffbottlesplus/vacation2_zps21bbffe2.jpg)","background-repeat":"no-repeat","background-position":"right center"});</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 07, 2012, 08:46:39 pm
That is much better... It took the image to the far right, but that's ok... Can still easily make out the search box..
Actually, can now create an even longer image, to completely fill up the remaing area and keep it just short enough to not interfere with the profile info..
Your tops !
And a big thank you for taking the time !
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: terrel8125 on November 21, 2012, 09:18:39 pm
can u make the code so u can change the width of the pic within the coding
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 21, 2012, 10:04:21 pm
I can not help with answering your question about width, but did notice something about adjusting the height..
It seems that depending on how the forum has set the avatar sizes ( 120 x 120 etc.. ) makes a difference as to the height of that image.  No idea why, but it does..  :)
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: terrel8125 on November 21, 2012, 10:29:57 pm
yeah idk its irratating me cause on my test forums it fits perfectly look ill show u: http://testerforums.createaforum.com/index.php (http://testerforums.createaforum.com/index.php)
but on my regular forums it doesnt and i really dont know why look:
http://sanity718.createaforum.com/index.php (http://sanity718.createaforum.com/index.php)
and both of those have exact same width percentage of 100% idk what is going on
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 22, 2012, 04:17:03 am
can u make the code so u can change the width of the pic within the coding
I highly recommend that you just change the image's width with some sort of image software because it A) it may decrease the amount of kb in an image which will result in quicker downloading times and B) it will display much quicker because your web browser doesn't have to modify the image. There are few cases where changing the image's dimensions through coding and this isn't the case. In addition, the required coding is supported all major web browsers however Internet Explorer 8 and below doesn't support the required coding, which means you're leaving a chunk of visitors in the dark.

I can not help with answering your question about width, but did notice something about adjusting the height..
It seems that depending on how the forum has set the avatar sizes ( 120 x 120 etc.. ) makes a difference as to the height of that image.  No idea why, but it does..  :)
Good observation, the height of your image is affected by your avatar because the image is set as a background image for the specified area. Think of how our posts gets bigger when we add more lines of text to it.

yeah idk its irratating me cause on my test forums it fits perfectly look ill show u: http://testerforums.createaforum.com/index.php (http://testerforums.createaforum.com/index.php)
but on my regular forums it doesnt and i really dont know why look:
http://sanity718.createaforum.com/index.php (http://sanity718.createaforum.com/index.php)
and both of those have exact same width percentage of 100% idk what is going on
Both of the forums show exactly the same image in the same location. As TaoGem has said, the size of your avatar affects the image. It'd be nice if you post a screenshot so I can see what's going on exactly.
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 22, 2012, 04:39:52 am
Ya.. Having the size of the avatar determine the height of the image is not such a big deal.. The only noticable difference is for a guest who is not logged in.. Because there is no profile image showing there as a guest, the height is greatly reduced..
All is well though...
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: terrel8125 on November 22, 2012, 04:52:23 pm
(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi978.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fae262%2Fterrel8125%2Fpic2-1.png&hash=6add77a7e50c49abd1d76d369cb449770ef8157c)
(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fi978.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fae262%2Fterrel8125%2Fpic1.png&hash=6d386c10da28212d740b003dff706ddb23e50963)
as it states in the picture they are both 100% width they have exactly the same coding on them it has everything cept the boards
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: TaoGem on November 22, 2012, 05:01:03 pm
Terrel..
Are you sure your using this code.. ?  Because mine is centered so as not to cover up the profile and search box areas.  http://www.gofunforum.com/ (http://www.gofunforum.com/)
Code: [Select]
<script>$("#upper_section").css({"background-image":"url(http://i1270.photobucket.com/albums/jj612/snuffbottlesplus/vacation2_zps21bbffe2.jpg)","background-repeat":"no-repeat","background-position":"right center"});</script>
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: terrel8125 on November 23, 2012, 03:43:34 am
yes im using the exact same code for both forums i think the aspect ratio of one forums is larger then the other idk why though
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 23, 2012, 04:54:21 am
Try adding the same amount of tabs to your test forum, that's the one major difference I've noticed.
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: terrel8125 on November 23, 2012, 04:29:34 pm
i believe it was the aspect ratio thats automatically changed with the size of the header i never realised how big the header was till the other day but thank you guys for helping me out to the best of your abilities i changed the size of the header image and it fixed it automatically so yeah
Title: Re: Can it be done :)
Post by: aIURbliS on November 26, 2012, 04:53:16 am
I highly suggest you guys read the three sticky topics I wrote in the Style board and use CSS code instead of the javascript code I wrote in this topic.