Create A Forum - Support Forums

Support => Guides and Tutorials => Topic started by: Seldom Fail on August 06, 2012, 04:55:06 pm

Title: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: Seldom Fail on August 06, 2012, 04:55:06 pm
Pictures expressed as links.


Purchasing Your Domain


Go to http://godaddy.com (http://godaddy.com)

When you get there, you will see this screen (or something close to it, depending on how often they change their style): http://i49.tinypic.com/2wqwjg6.png (http://i49.tinypic.com/2wqwjg6.png)

Enter a domain name you would like to purchase into the search box and click "Search"

When you do so, you will be directed to this page: http://i47.tinypic.com/w1sgo7.png

It will tell you whether the domain is available or not. Check the domain you'd like and then click the "Continue to Registration" buttons.

It will then take you to this page: http://i51.tinypic.com/2cp59mt.jpg (http://i51.tinypic.com/2cp59mt.jpg)

If you do not already have an account with GoDaddy, you will need to register. If an account is already set up, you can just login.

The other things on that page are pretty self explanatory and are their way of getting you to view all of the options that they can sell you with the domain.

The rest I can't show you unless I actually purchase the example domain. It will ask for your credit card information and other stuff for your account. Register all of that and then purchase the domain. If you get confused with anything, you can PM me screenshots or post them here (making sure no personal information is visible) and I or someone here will do our best to help you through it.



Setting Up Nameservers


Login to Godaddy
Click Domain Manager on the menu on the left under "My Products".
You'll see your domain name on the next page  -  Click on it.

STEP 1:

Scroll down to the bottom left of the page to Host Summary.
Click the (add) link.
(see image below)
For Hostname put:  NS1
Directly under that put the IP Number
(you'll find the IP Number in Admin > Domain Manager)
Click OK

Click (add) again
This time put NS2 for the hostname
Click OK

(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Ftentdwellers.org%2Fgodaddyhelp%2Fgodaddy2.png&hash=43a846eadeab60c3dc5efcadde0b0a385e0a8b93)


STEP 2:

Click on the Nameservers button on the toolbar then select Set Nameservers
(see image below)
Put a checkmark in I have specific nameservers for my domains.
If it is not already there enter ns1.your domain name and ns2.your domain name
Click OK

(https://support.createaforum.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Ftentdwellers.org%2Fgodaddyhelp%2Fgodaddy3.png&hash=23891b55ac1d4b59469461940c081ba111371c2e)

That's it at Godaddy!

FINAL STEP:

Wait at least 24 hours and then go back to the Domain Manager on your forum.
In the text box near the bottom, put your domain in and click "Park Domain"

This will appear below it:

yourdomainname.com VERIFY URL click on verify link if you see 1 you can update the url. Update Forum Url

DO NOT CLICK UPDATE FORUM URL YET.

Wait AT LEAST 24 hours. Then, every few hours, click "Verify URL". It will take you to a GoDaddy page most of the time. When it takes you to a blank page with a 1 in the top left corner, you can THEN click "Update Forum URL"

Congratulations. You now have your own domain. If you have any questions, comments, suggestions, etc. Please post them here :)
Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: Andrew Waldegrave on May 27, 2014, 04:03:15 pm
Before I do these steps here.
 Do I have to Download configuration and pay ?
Someone please let me know
Thanks
Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: Nalah on January 03, 2016, 06:50:27 pm
Hi! I am trying to set up my domain name for my forum, but I'm having some issues because my domain ends in .ca


I have contacted GoDaddy and they have advised me that I need TWO seperate IP addresses for the Nameservers because of the domain being .ca, and createaforum only provides ONE IP address for both nameservers.


Is it possible for you to provide me with a 2nd IP address for the nameserver?
If not, my domain will not work. :(


Please let me know!
Thanks
Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: CreateAForum on January 04, 2016, 03:23:02 am
Replied to your other post.
Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: GM-Bubbles on September 28, 2018, 04:46:00 am
Hello! Yes, I should be sleeping :)


I had no problem setting up our domain! However, now our URL shows "not secure" in the address bar. I read the stuff under the "i", but did not find a solution. BTW, I did get a domain from GoDaddy. Any guidance you could provide would be appreciated.



Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: CreateAForum on September 28, 2018, 05:05:04 am
If you are using a custom domain requires an SSL upgrade if you want the secure in the address bar click on the upgrades link in your forum for details
Title: Re: [[GUIDE]] Setting Up Your Own Domain with GoDaddy
Post by: GM-Bubbles on September 28, 2018, 03:01:09 pm
Thank you :)