Author Topic: Users Online  (Read 887 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Users Online
« on: September 10, 2011, 02:16:56 pm »

Most other sites that have Users Online down near the bottom, along with Users active in the past 15 minutes, whoever comes online it will show automatically. But with this software, it never shows unless I refresh the page. Is this a bug of some kind?


Also, can we adjust the 15 minute default to something like 5 minutes?

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Offline Alex

  • CAF Support Team
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Greenville, North Carolina
    • View Profile
Re: Users Online
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2011, 03:14:19 pm »
I'm not quite sure what the first part of the post is asking? But for the second: Admin>CP>Features and Options>Change "User online time threshold" to whatever number of minutes you want it to be.
Terms Of Service

Please don't PM me with support questions

Offline CB

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • Karma: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Users Online
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2011, 03:26:51 pm »
I'm not quite sure what the first part of the post is asking? But for the second: Admin>CP>Features and Options>Change "User online time threshold" to whatever number of minutes you want it to be.


First part:


The page itself, i.e. the users at the bottom of the page, it updates on it's own, showing what users have been active the past 15 minutes, without having to refresh the page to see this change. This is how it works on most forums. But for whatever reason, on CreateAForum, I have to manually refresh the page for this to work. Just wondering if this was a bug or not.

Offline Alex

  • CAF Support Team
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 12
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Greenville, North Carolina
    • View Profile
Re: Users Online
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2011, 03:30:43 pm »
I've actually never seen it do that on its own before and from what I recall, on all SMF forums you have to refresh the page to updated what users are online.
Terms Of Service

Please don't PM me with support questions

Offline simply sibyl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
  • Karma: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Users Online
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2011, 03:57:53 pm »
It is not a bug.  If you are seeing it update without a page refresh then the forum you are seeing it do that on is not running simplemachines software.    Its not coded into the smf software to do that - you will not see the change until you refresh the page.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2723 Views
Last post January 20, 2012, 09:14:20 pm
by CreateAForum
0 Replies
3160 Views
Last post April 05, 2013, 09:03:19 pm
by CreateAForum
5 Replies
665 Views
Last post April 21, 2014, 03:13:40 pm
by CreateAForum
0 Replies
259 Views
Last post December 25, 2014, 06:50:13 pm
by discjocke09
1 Replies
119 Views
Last post February 23, 2018, 03:24:59 pm
by CreateAForum