News:

Create A Forum Installed

Author Topic: Favicon?  (Read 2780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andrew

  • Andrew at your service
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
  • Karma: 11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • The Tech Cadet Blog

Badges: (View All)
Tenth year Anniversary Nineth year Anniversary Eighth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #15 on: September 13, 2012, 04:25:58 pm »
What's in the HREF hashtags should be the path to the ICO file, as Libinbabu53 pointed out. Notice how going to http://www.melior.fav.cc/favicon.ico shows you the favicon, because that path is correct.

Michel: The links within the HREF tags in the code you have are incorrect. It must be a valid link for it to work correctly.
Please do not PM for support. General Support FAQ | Guides Index | Code Index

Offline aIURbliS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
  • Karma: 45
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: U.S.
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Level 6 Sixth year Anniversary Fifth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2012, 10:15:44 pm »
According to wikipedia, most web browsers support .png and .jpg files as favicons
All codes I make are tested on the latest version of Google Chrome and upon request of other browsers.

Offline Andrew

  • Andrew at your service
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
  • Karma: 11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • The Tech Cadet Blog

Badges: (View All)
Tenth year Anniversary Nineth year Anniversary Eighth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #17 on: September 15, 2012, 01:34:07 am »
Yes but we have to consider the old timers that still use IE. :P
Please do not PM for support. General Support FAQ | Guides Index | Code Index

Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2013, 07:12:11 pm »
Old thread, but I have a problem with uploading the favicon.


I've done it, it works !


On http://ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com/


but not on my hosted domain of www.wholesalechat.co.uk


how do I go about uploading the favicon to this domain ?

Offline Halo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Are you high?
  • Location: United Kigndom
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Mobile User Topic Starter Level 2
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2013, 02:25:33 am »
Admin CP  - > Style Manager - > Headers & Footers


Favicons' can be used as .ico .png & .gif images, the preferred image type is .ico, so I will only show you how to use .ico files.


If your favicon is an .ico image, please use the following code in your Header.


Code: [Select]
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="Image URL" type="image/x-icon">

Now, replace Image URL with the URL of the image from the image host you used. I will post an image host that you can use to upload .ico files, as most do not allow .ico images.


http://favicon.co.uk/ (Make sure to name your image "favicon")


Save your Headers & Footers, and your image should now show.


If you are having troubles with the image not showing up, please feel free to PM me
Works 100%, Thanks :)




Offline Andrew

  • Andrew at your service
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 174
  • Karma: 11
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • The Tech Cadet Blog

Badges: (View All)
Tenth year Anniversary Nineth year Anniversary Eighth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2013, 07:01:02 am »
Old thread, but I have a problem with uploading the favicon.


I've done it, it works !


On http://ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com/


but not on my hosted domain of www.wholesalechat.co.uk


how do I go about uploading the favicon to this domain ?

We can only give you support on the forum that is hosted with Create A Forum.

I do believe there is a Favicon modification for self-hosted forums though.
Please do not PM for support. General Support FAQ | Guides Index | Code Index

Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2013, 08:16:07 am »
it is hosted with create a forum - the two domains are the same

Offline Halo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • Gender: Male
  • Are you high?
  • Location: United Kigndom
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Mobile User Topic Starter Level 2
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2013, 03:38:09 pm »
It should not be a png or jpg file it should be .ico!!
In ur case the image should be:-
3483.ico
not
3483.png!
Look at my code:-
Code: [Select]
<LINK REL="SHORTCUT ICON" HREF="http://www.melior.fav.cc/favicon.ico" />
see!
Its favicon.ico file.
so convert urs into ico too.
Many online ico converters are available


Resize the favicon you want to use, upload it to http://eypic.net and change the URL to the url you get from Eypic.


Hope this helps.




Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2013, 03:43:19 pm »
Oh No ! No one is 'getting this' are they ?


I have the favicon installed and it works on www.ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com


My forum is then hosted/directed, whatever you like to call it, to www.wholesalechat.co.uk


The favicon works on the first but not the second domain

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7186
  • Karma: 327
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Avatar Linux User Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2013, 03:49:54 pm »
The main domain is a frame redirect
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-frameset.dtd">

<html>
<head>
<title>Wholesale Chat</title>
<meta name="keywords" content="Wholesale Chat" />
<meta name="description" content="Wholesale Chat" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
</head>
<frameset rows="100%">
<frame src="http://ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com" title="Wholesale Chat" frameborder="0" noresize="noresize"/>
<noframes>
<body>
<h1>Wholesale Chat</h1>
<p><a href="http://ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com">http://wholesalechat.co.uk/</a></p>
</body>
</noframes>
</frameset>
</html>

Which does not support favicons the best way to get it working is to park the domain with us and use as your forum's domain in order for the favicon to work.
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2013, 03:52:56 pm »
how do I park the domain with you ? Thats what I thought I had done, under Admin>Domain Manager>Park Domain button

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7186
  • Karma: 327
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Avatar Linux User Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2013, 03:55:03 pm »
You need to ether create nameservers or setup an A record and point it to the ip of 184.171.171.98
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2013, 03:59:22 pm »
Yep , thats what I've done, otherwise my domain address wouldn't be working - but it is.


So my forum displays exactly the same on www.ukwholesaleforum.createaforum.com as it does on my domain www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7186
  • Karma: 327
    • View Profile

Badges: (View All)
Avatar Linux User Tenth year Anniversary
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2013, 04:02:12 pm »
At the moment you have a redirect which is different forwards the request from that site to your createaforum.com site but doesn't change your createaforum links
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline WholesaleChat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
  • Karma: 3
  • WholesaleChat.co.uk
    • View Profile
    • www.wholesalechat.co.uk

Badges: (View All)
Level 5 100 Posts Old Browser
Re: Favicon?
« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2013, 04:07:03 pm »
but I've done what you said above - I'll check everything later

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
2 Replies
1076 Views
Last post March 01, 2011, 02:38:27 am
by Arekay
4 Replies
1858 Views
Last post April 02, 2011, 07:17:54 pm
by Rude
0 Replies
342 Views
Last post January 26, 2012, 02:18:16 am
by Admire
10 Replies
1089 Views
Last post August 17, 2013, 02:44:51 am
by Silver734
2 Replies
282 Views
Last post May 23, 2017, 05:28:59 pm
by Egbune