Author Topic: Facebook Browser  (Read 273 times)

0 Members and 0 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline neil1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Facebook Browser
« on: June 17, 2019, 12:39:46 pm »
When anyone shares a classified post to Facebook, if the recipient tries to open the link from their phone, it uses the facebook browser but the link will not open in this. Is there a reason the site will not open in the Facebook browser? If we made the site secure https would this help? Site is www.thehorseempire.com


Thanks,  Neil

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter


Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5732
  • Karma: 276
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2019, 04:54:17 pm »
I fixed share button image on view listing page.

I did try a test post facebook share from your page and it work ok on a desktop computer with firefox
It could be due to ssl if not working on mobile.
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline neil1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2019, 01:44:06 pm »
Yeah, you are right, it works fine on a desktop as it takes to an external browser, its just in the facebook app on a mobile that it opens it inside facebooks own browser that it doesn't load. Next stage is to try an ssl upgrade then. Do I do that through createaforum or do I purchase one from the domain registrar(godaddy).

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5732
  • Karma: 276
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2019, 01:47:31 pm »
Do it though createaforum.com we install and do it all seamless.
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline neil1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2019, 02:03:17 pm »
The SSL cert is now added but it still doesn't load on the Facebook app, any ideas of what could cause this?

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5732
  • Karma: 276
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2019, 02:32:46 pm »
Could be facebook itself. Maybe you set and allow domain on the facebook app?

I stopped making facebook apps for that reason they were very picky on what can appear on their apps.
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline neil1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2019, 07:51:52 pm »
Hi, I've figured out it only won't load the mobile version of the classified section. It will load the mobile version of the forum so I can do that then switch to full site and load the classified. Is there any way to completely switch off mobile version of my site?

Offline CreateAForum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5732
  • Karma: 276
    • View Profile
Re: Facebook Browser
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2019, 08:06:35 pm »
Under Admin -> Layout Settings -> Manage and Install

Check "Disable Mobile Theme"
Like Create A Forum? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
1496 Views
Last post July 08, 2010, 08:14:00 pm
by CreateAForum
15 Replies
4425 Views
Last post February 06, 2013, 10:53:47 pm
by Pizmit
2 Replies
1616 Views
Last post February 20, 2012, 04:15:45 am
by Seldom Fail
6 Replies
446 Views
Last post January 11, 2014, 05:29:47 pm
by CreateAForum
2 Replies
142 Views
Last post December 31, 2015, 04:42:28 pm
by gtafan2u